As we design our Tikkun app, we are thinking about all of the content that will be user-generated. In the simplest situation, user-generated content will be stored on the user’s device, to be accessed there as needed. Today, however, it is very common to have both a phone and a tablet, and also to upgrade to a new device every few years. In those cases, users will want to seamlessly continue their studies via the app on another device. The app will support this by storing their content on Google Drive as well as on their device. In terms of data privacy, Google Drive includes a special hidden folder that can only be accessed by the app that is used to create the data. When a user signs in to Google Drive, our app will save or sync the user’s data on the device with the user’s data in the hidden folder on Google Drive. It will do this automatically over unmetered Internet connections, and also when the user explicitly requests to sync. This will ensure that the user’s data is available within the app whenever and wherever the user needs it. And this is all cross-platform: if you have both an Android and an iOS device (as I do), it will all just work.
To share content with another user, the data will need to be present in the sharer’s “My Drive” area of Google Drive. The app will handle this, and make use of Google Drive’s sharing mechanisms to handle the request. The app will, on initial set-up, create a folder in the user’s “My Drive” to store all of the app’s data which is being shared. The user who is receiving the shared content will be able to access it within their copy of the app, and will also see it in the “Shared with me” folder in their Google Drive.
With today’s concerns about data security, we believe that use of Google Drive for sharing and syncing is the best solution at no additonal cost. This FAQ page from Google answers various questions about what Google does to protect data in its cloud services, like Google Drive.
We are always happy to hear from you. Write to me directly at email@example.com